Faculty

Core Faculty

Osama Abi-MershedOsama Abi-Mershed

Associate Professor, History; Director, Center for Contemporary Arab Studies (CCAS)
Specializations: North Africa, Arabs and Ottomans, colonial and post-colonial Franco-Maghribi relations

abimerso@georgetown.edu
Phone: (202) 687-5648
Office Location: 255 ICC

Fida AdelyFida J Adely

Associate Professor, Anthropology
Specializations: Women, gender, and education in the Arab world

fja25@georgetown.edu
Office Location: 241 ICC 
Website 

Marwa DaoudyMarwa Daoudy

Assistant Professor, International Relations
Specializations: International relations, critical security studies, environmental security, negotiation theory, peace and conflict, water, Middle East politics, Syria, Syria-Turkey relations

marwa.daoudy@georgetown.edu
Office Location: 241 ICC

Rochelle DavisRochelle Davis

Associate Professor, Anthropology; Director, Master of Arts in Arab Studies
Specializations: Arab society and culture, refugees and migration in the Arab world, historiography, conflict

rad39@georgetown.edu
Phone: (202) 687-0351
Office Location: 147 ICC

Daniel NeepDaniel Neep

Assistant Professor, Arab Politics
Specializations: State formation and state-society relations in the Middle East; Politics of Syria; State theory, space, violence; Colonialism and empire; Comparative-historical analysis; Qualitative and interpretive research methods in the social sciences

dn230@georgetown.edu

SassoonJoseph Sassoon

Associate Professor and CCAS Sheikh Sabah Al Salem Al Sabah Chair 
Specializations: Political economy and economic history of the Arab world; Modern history and politics (particularly of Iraq); Iraqi refugees; Politics and economics of authoritarianism

js824@georgetown.edu
Phone: (202)687-5664
Office Location: 241 ICC

Judith TuckerJudith Tucker

Professor, History
Specializations: Women and gender in Middle East history, Islamic law, piracy in the Mediterranean

Judith.Tucker@georgetown.edu
Phone: (202) 687-5238

Visiting and Affiliated Faculty

Mustafa AksakalMustafa Aksakal

Associate Professor of History and Nesuhi Ertegun Chair of Modern Turkish Studies

Mustafa.Aksakal@georgetown.edu
Phone: (202) 687-2886
Office Location: 601 ICC

Belkacem BaccoucheBelkacem Baccouche

Visiting Instructor

baccoucb@georgetown.edu
Phone: (202) 687-0349
Office Location: 146 ICC

BrownJonathan A.C. Brown

Associate Professor, Prince Al-Waleed bin Talal Chair of Islamic Civilization

brownj2@georgetown.edu
Phone: (202) 687-0293
Office Location: 165 ICC

Elliott Colla

Associate Professor and Department Chair of the Department of Arabic and Islamic Studies

Elliott.Colla@georgetown.edu
Office Location: 2 Poulton - North Wing

Emma Gannagé

Associate Professor

epg23@georgetown.edu
Phone: (202) 687-5649
Office Location: 2 Poulton - North Wing

Bassam S Haddad

Adjunct Associate Professor and ASJ Editor

haddadb@georgetown.edu
Phone: (202) 687-5793

Yvonne Y Haddad

Professor

haddady@georgetown.edu
Phone: (202) 687-2575
Office Location: 167 ICC

JebnounNoureddine Jebnoun

Adjunct Assistant Professor

nj64@georgetown.edu
Phone: (202) 687-7001
Office Location: 241 ICC

Felicitas M M Opwis

Associate Professor

Felicitas.Opwis@georgetown.edu
Phone: (202) 687-7001
Office Location: 208 Poulton

Emad Shahin

Visiting Professor

Emad.Shahin@georgetown.edu

Suzanne Stetkevych

Sultan Qaboos bin Said Professor of Arabic and Islamic Studies 

ss3179@georgetown.edu
Office Location: Poulton - North Wing 2

 

Emeritus Faculty

Michael Hudson

Professor Emeritus

hudsonm@georgetown.edu
Phone: (202) 687-5648
Office Location: 251 ICC